Green theme Wolverhampton Chess Club logo


'Chess At The Heart Of The City and wider community..'

Home Leagues Events Contacts About Our Club



Main Menu

javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by

League Trophies

WDCL Pittaway and Humphreys Cups (Team)

WDCL Rock Cup and Bidgood Cup (individual knockout)

WDCL Humphrey's Cup (U130)

CDCL Robert Ward Memorial Trophy





WalRus Section

Welcome to the WalRus Section of the Wolverhampton Chess Club website.

Overview and brief history

The WalRus competition began in 1986 and is held late April/early May each year.

Initially, two clubs Walsall Kipping and Rushall competed for the WalRus Trophy. Wolverhampton joined the competition in 2005.

The number of boards increased in 1989.

Walrus 2014 and 2015
Walrus 2015 07/05/2015 : Wolverhampton fail to retain the Walrus Trophy.  Rushall equal Wolverhampton's winning 7 point total of 2011.   Well done Rushall and Walsall Kipping on achieving 2nd place.  Next year Rushall host but can they retain the Walrus?
Walrus 2014 15/05/2014 : Wolverhampton win Walrus and deprive Walsall Kipping of an hat trick at Wolverhampton. In an historical repeat of 2011 Paul Walters is the last board playing and the board result is decisive. Wolverhampton were outgraded on some boards and had the lowest combined grade total. Wins against higher grades for Peter Griffith, Barry Lewis, Steve Wilson, Paul Walters and solid draws for Lewis Clarke, and solid draws from Peter Jones, Dave Wightman equalled last year's winning score and elevated Wolverhampton just 0.5 points above 2nd place Rushall. Well done all and thank you to to all teams and players for making it an exciting and memorable night of chess battles. full scores in Walrus section and Walrus archives. Date and venue:
Thurs 15 May 2014 at Wolverhampton Chess Club.


WalRus Gallery



Rules and Cometition format


Each club has a team of 10 players.

15 board match.

Grading sections apply

Time Control : 30 moves in 60 mins, after which 15 minutes is added to each clock.

Venues: Opposing teams play each other at alternating venues, Rushall, Walsall Kipping, Wolverhampton.

Some Rules Of Play

toss for colour.


Current Trophy Holders

Rushall as of 07/05/2015

Venue : Walsall Kipping

Previous year Wolverhampton beat Rushall by 0.5 points.

: Click link for for results and writeup or access from Walrus section, scores from Trophy section of this website.


Club Accolades

Wolverhampton Win Walrus Trophy 2014 and 2011 on Thurs 5 May 2011 at Wolverhampton. Wolverhampton 7 points (highest points total to date), Walsall Kipping 6, Rushall 2.

See full scores and writeup here

Walrus Full Scores


List of Walrus Trophy Winners by year.

2014: Wolverhampton 5.5 points at Wolverhampton.

2013 : Walsall Kipping 5.5 points at Rushall

2012 : Walsall Kipping 6.5 points at Walsall Kipping

2011 : Wolverhampton 7 points at Wolverhampton.

2010 : Rushall 5.5 points at Rushall.

2009 : Rushall win at Walsall Kipping

Webmaster: Email Paul Walters
Last Update: May 20, 2014 11:47


May 20, 2014 11:47May 20, 2014 11:47May 20, 2014 11:47